Best Paper Awarded - Dr. Kurt Fausch

Dr. Kurt Fausch received the Best Informational Paper Award at the Annual Meeting of the Colorado-Wyoming Chapter of the American Fisheries Society meeting, held in Laramie, WY.

Dr. Fausch presented a paper titled "Groundwater depletion in the western Great Plains is projected to dry 250 km of stream fish habitat in the next 45 years."  Kurt was a coauthor with former Ph.D. student Jeff Falke and five other scientists.

GDPE Ph.D. Candidate Wins GDPE and Other Awards

GDPE Ph.D. candidate Brian Wolff recently won the GDPE Student Travel Award and GDPE Ecology Small Grants Award. He also was awarded the Colorado Mountain Club Academic Fellowship Award, and the Colorado Water Institute Student Research Award. The sum of these awards totaled around $7,000. Congratulations Brian!

Rotoract Club of Fort Collins at CSU Earns Two Awards

The Rotoract Club of Fort Collins won two awards at the CSU Leadership Awards ceremony on Wednesday, May 4. They were awarded the Outstanding Organization of the Year and the Outstanding Officer Awards. FWCB's Dr. Delwin Benson is a member of the Fort Collins Rotary and works closely with the Rotoract Club. 

WCNR Awards Banquet Honors FWCB Winners

Several members of the FWCB department were honored with awards at the Warner College of Natural Resources Awards Banquet on Thursday, April 21, 2016. 

The winners are:
  • Mevin Hooten - Outstanding Publication Award for 2015 book titled "Hobbs, N.T. and M.B. Hooten (2015). Bayesian Models: A Statistical Primer for Ecologists. Princeton University Press."
  • Kate Huyvaert - Harry E. Troxel Distinguished Service-To-Students Award
  • Marina Rodriguez (Wildlife Biology Senior) - Robert Davis Honor Senior Memorial Award
  • Honors Seniors in each concentration:
    • Conservation Biology: Rachel Maison
    • Wildlife Biology: John Thibodeaux
    • Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences: Cat de Vlaming
Congratulations to all of the winners!