Watershed Science 60th Anniversary Celebration

watershed science at csu logo

Thursday, March 22nd, 2018

Events were held at the new Iris and Michael Smith Alumni Center Event Hall at 701 W. Pitkin Street on CSU’s campus.  A tour of the new multi-use CSU Stadium was held at 1:00 PM.

Welcome and Introduction

2:00-2:15 PM

Rick Miranda, CSU Provost and Executive Vice President

John Hayes, Warner College of Natural Resources Dean

John Moore, Department Head of Ecosystem Science & Sustainability and Director, Natural Resource Ecology Lab (PhD in Zoology and Entomology, 1986)

Session 1: Real-time conditions (Where the Watershed Science program is in 2018)

2:15-2:25 PM

Stephanie Kampf, Associate Professor of Watershed Science, Department of Ecosystem Science & Sustainability

Session 2/Panel: Currents (What employment in the field of Watershed Science looks like today) — Moderator: Steven Fassnacht, Professor of Watershed Science, Department of Ecosystem Science & Sustainability

2:30-3:15 PM

Jeff Hughes, National Park Service Water Resources Division (Watershed BS 1981, Watershed MS 1983)

Jennifer Kovecses, Coalition for the Poudre River Watershed

Eric Richer, Colorado Parks and Wildlife (Watershed MS, 2009)

Jason Roudebush, Ducks Unlimited (Environmental Health BS 2003, Watershed MS 2013)

Heidi Welsh, Spronk Water Engineers, Inc. (Watershed BS, 2007)

Break 3:20-3:40 PM
Session 3/Panel: Looking Downstream (Future Issues and Opportunities) — Moderator: Tim Covino, Assistant Professor, Department of Ecosystem Science & Sustainability

3:45-4:30 PM

Don Anderson, US Fish and Wildlife Service

Taryn Finnessey, Colorado Water Conservation Board

Casey Davenhill, Colorado Watershed Assembly

Kate Laudon, Wenck/Lidstone Associates

Jill Oropeza, City of Fort Collins

Session 4: Rapids and Holes (What I wish I learned) — Moderator: Lee MacDonald, Emeritus Professor, Department of Ecosystem Science & Sustainability

4:45-5:30 PM

Final Remarks 5:35-5:45 PM
Social Reception, Dinner, and Keynote

6:30 PM

Keynote Speaker: Carl Chambers, Forest Hydrologist for the US Forest Service, Arapahoe Roosevelt National Forest

Held in Old Town, Fort Collins