Department Seminars

Seminars are located in Room 320, Warner College of Natural Resources (NR) Building on Friday afternoons, and will begin at 4:00 p.m. (alternative dates/times/locations may occasionally be noted).  Questions?  Please call (970) 491-5661 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

SPRING SEMESTER 2015      
       
Friday, January 23 FIRST WEEK OF CLASSES    
Friday, January 30
4:00 p.m.
Stephanie O'Meara, Jim Chappell, Derek Witt and Jason Kenworthy, National Park Service-CSU The National Park Service Geologic Resources Inventory Program: An Overview of our Program and Products Judy Hannah
Friday, February 6
4:00 p.m.
Lyndsay Ball, USGS Mapping Groundwater Salinity through Airborne Electromagnetics Sean Bryan
Friday, February 13
4:00 p.m.
Jaime Barnes, University of Texas
(Association for Women
Geoscientists
 Distinguished Lecturer)
Chlorine Stable Isotope Behavior in Volcanic Systems: 'Tracer of Source or Process?' Sean Bryan
Monday, February 23 4:00 p.m. Gang Yang, AIRIE Program, CSU Re-Os Analyses for Ag Ores from the Kongsberg Mines, Southeast Norway Holly Stein
Friday, February 27
4:00 p.m.
Holger Stunitz, University of Tromsø-Norway Some Aspects of the Brittle to Viscous Transition in Rock Deformation: Nature and Experiments John Ridley
Friday, March 6
4:00 p.m.
Julie Sexton, University of Northern Colorado Factors Associated with the Recruitment and Retention of Students into Geoscience Jerry Magloughlin
Friday, March 13
4:00 p.m.
NO SEMINAR    
Friday, March 20 SPRING BREAK    
Friday, March 27 CSU Faculty Slam (Tentative)   Rick Aster
Friday, April 3
4:00 p.m.
Josh Roering, University of Oregon - (GEOPRISMS Distinguished Lecturer) Limits to Life’s Role in Landscape Evolution: Physical, Chemical, and Biological Drivers of Erosion along Continental Margins Ellen Wohl
Friday, April 10
4:00 p.m.
Svet Georgiev, AIRIE Program, CSU Cadmium-isotopic Evidence for Increasing Primary Productivity during the Late Permian Anoxic Event Holly Stein
Friday, April 17
4:00 p.m.
Eric Bilderback, Nat'l Park Service, Geologic Resources Div. (GRD) TBA Sara Rathburn
Friday, April 24
4:00 p.m.
Paul Winberry, Central Washington University TBA Dennis Harry
Monday, April 27  4:00 p.m. Przemyslaw Dera, Hawai'i Institute of Geophysics and Planetology   COMPRES Lecture Series
Friday, May 1
4:00 p.m.
Mark Boslough, Sandia National Laboratories Destructive Airbursts: from Tunguska to Chelyabinsk and beyond Rick Aster
Friday, May 8
4:00 p.m.
Audrey Huerta, Central Washington University TBA Dennis Harry
Friday, May 15 FINALS WEEK