Department Seminars

Seminars are located in Room 320, Warner College of Natural Resources (NR) Building on Thursday afternoons, and will begin at 12:300 p.m. (alternative dates/times/locations may occasionally be noted).  Questions?  Please call (970) 491-5661 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

SPRING SEMESTER 2016      
       
Thursday, January 21 NO SEMINAR - FIRST WEEK OF CLASSES    
Thursday, January 28 NO SEMINAR - FACULTY MTG.    
Thursday, February 4
12:30 p.m.
Yvette D. Kuiper, Dept. of Geology and Geological Engineering, Colorado School of Mines Along-strike Variations in the (Northern) Appalachians: a Model of Mid-Paleozoic Oceanic Ridge Subduction Holly Stein
Thursday, February 11
12:30 p.m.
Karl Karlstrom, Dept. of FGeology and Geological Eng., Colorado School of Mines
TBA Rick Aster
Thursday, February 18
12:30 p.m.
Ben Crosby, Idaho State University Landscape Response to Changing Climate: Studies of Instability from the Alaskan Arctic Ellen Wohl
Thursday, February 25 NO SEMINAR - FACULTY MTG.    
Thursday, March 3
12:30 p.m.
Craig Jones, Dept. of Geological Sciences, University of Colorado Making the Rockies by Drowning Colorado Dennis Harry
Thursday, March 10
12:30 p.m.
Mark Clementz, Dept. of Geology & Geophysics, University of Wyoming Siren Songs from Ancient Seas: Reconstructing Cenozoic Marine Ecosystems through Geochemical Analysis of Fossil Marine Mammals Sven Egenhoff
Thursday, March 17 NO SEMINAR - SPRING BREAK    
Thursday, March 24 NO SEMINAR - FACULTY MTG.    
Thursday, March 31
12:30 p.m.
Lesli Wood, Weimer Distinguished Chair, Colorado School of Mines TBA Dennis Harry
Thursday, April 7
12:30 p.m.
Georgina Bennett, U.S. Forest Service, Rocky Mountain Research Station TBA Sara Rathburn
Thursday, April 14
12:30 p.m.
Lang Farmer, University of Colorado TBA Dennis Harry
Thursday, April 21
12:30 p.m.
TBA TBA  
Thursday, April 28 NO SEMINAR - FACULTY MTG.    
Thursday, May 5
12:30 p.m.
Adrian Borsa, EarthScope Distinguished Lecturer What EarthScope's Plate Boundary Observatory Can Tell Us about Water Resources in the Western United States Derek Schutt
Thursday, May 12 NO SEMINAR - FINALS WEEK