Department Seminars

Seminars are located in Room 320 Warner College of Natural Resources Building on Monday afternoon, and will begin at 4:00 pm unless noted otherwise.  Questions?  Please call (970) 491-5661 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

Date Speaker Title Host
       
SPRING SEMESTER 2014      
Monday, January 20 HOLIDAY/CLASSES BEGIN TUES.    
Monday, January 27 Sean Bryan, Instructor, CSU Department of Geosciences The Dynamics of ITCZ Migration and Monsoon Variability over the Past 250 Years from Red Sea Corals Jamie Kirkpatrick
Monday, February 3 No Seminar    
Monday, February 10 Dr. Eric Erslev, CSU Faculty Emeritus Laramide Mid-crustal Detachment in the Rockies: Results, Implications and Opportunities from the NSF/EarthScope-funded Bignorn Project Jamie Kirkpatrick
Monday, February 17 Dr. Brian Kendall, University of Waterloo, Ontario Uranium and Molybdenum Isotope Evidence for Widespread Ocean Oxygenation During the Late Ediacaran Period Holly Stein
Monday, February 24 Dr. Paul Myrow, Geology Dept., Colorado College The Geologic Record of Storms: Overview and Case Study of the Minturn Formation, Central Colorado Sven Egenhoff
Monday, March 3 John Kaszuba, University of Wyoming Integrated Field, Experimental, and Modeling Perspectives of Geologic Carbon-Sulfur Co-Sequestration Bill Sanford
Monday, March 10 James Hagadorn, Denver Museum of Nature & Science Deep Time Slime Derek Schutt
Monday, March 17 SPRING BREAK    
Monday, March 24 Faculty Research Slam, Dept. of Geosciences, CSU CSU Geosciences Faculty Research Presentations Rick Aster
Monday, March 31 Dr. Joseph Sertich, Dept. of Earth Sciences, Denver Museum of Nature & Science Laramidia: Unraveling the Mystery of Biotic Diversity from the Lost Continent of Dinosaurs Jamie Kirkpatrick
Monday, April 7 Justin Rubinstein, Geophysicist, USGS-Menlo Park, California Hazards from Induced Earthquakes in Colorado and Across the United States Jamie Kirkpatrick
Monday, April 14 Dr. Brandon Schmandt, Dept. of Earth & Planetary Sciences, Univ. of New Mexico Dissecting the Sound of Rivers: Seismic and Infrasound Monitoring of a Controlled Flood in Grand Canyon Rick Aster
Monday, April 21 Dr. Gregory Ojakangas, Assoc. Professor of Physics, Drury University Do Precambrian stromatolites hold clues to continent orientation and the dynamics of the ancient earth-moon system? Modeling and measuring the morphology of fossil algal structures. Jerry Magloughlin
Monday, April 28 Po Chen, University of Wyoming TBA Derek Schutt
Monday, May 5 Dr. Wendy Harrison, Colorado School of Mines TBA Rick Aster
Monday, May 12 FINALS WEEK