Department Seminars

Seminars are located in Room 320, Warner College of Natural Resources (NR) Building on Thursday afternoons, and will begin at 12:300 p.m. (alternative dates/times/locations may occasionally be noted).  Questions?  Please call (970) 491-5661 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

SPRING SEMESTER 2017      
       
Thursday, January 19 NO SEMiNAR - 1st week of class    
Thursday, January 26 Faculty Slamposium Lisa Stright, Mike Ronayne, Andy Darling  
Wednesday, February 1 National Ground Water Association Darcy Lecture Series:

The Critical Role of Water in Critical Zone Science: An Exploration of Water Fluxes in the Earth's Permeable Skin.

***This Seminar will be held at 4:00pm in Wagar 231
Kamini Singha, Professor, Dept of Geology and Geological Engineering, Colorado School of Mines  Faculty Host: Mike Ronayne
       
Thursday, February 2 Lowering the Barrier to Computational Modeling of Earth's Surface. Greg Tucker, University of Colorado Faculty Host: Dennis Harry
Thursday, February 9
 
Simulating Complex Flows in the Earth Mantle. Wolfgang Banerth, CSU Department of Mathematics Faculty Host: Derek Schutt
Thursday, February 16 NO SEMINAR - FACULTY MTG    
Thursday, February 23 Surfs Up! Life along the Western Cretaceous Interior Seaway during a Super Greenhouse.  Lesli Wood, Colorado School of Mines Faculty Host: Dennis Harry
Thursday, March 2 Archean or Laramide Deformation? Seismological Structure of the Bighorns Arch at High Resolution Megan Anderson, Colorado College Faculty Host: Dennis Harry
Thursday, March 9 Now You See It, Now You Don't: Catastrophic Collapse of a Cold-based Arctic Ice Cap. Mike Willis, CU Boulder, Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences (CIRES) Faculty Host: Rick Aster
Thursday, March 16 NO SEMINAR - SPRING BREAK    
Thursday, March 23 NO SEMINAR - FACULTY MTG    
Thursday, March 30 NO SEMINAR     
Thursday, April 6 Climate Tipping Points, Predictability, and the Silver Lining in a Sustainable Future. Jim White, CU, Director of INSTAAR Faculty Host: Judy Hannah
Thursday, April 13 NO SEMINAR - FACULTY MTG    
Thursday, April 20 The Snake River Plain – Yellowstone Hotspot Track: Assessing the Role of a Mantle Plume. Bill Leeman, Rice University Faculty Host: Dennis Harry
Thursday, April 27 Loud Landslides and Groaning Glaciers: Surface Processes through a Seismic Lens. Kate Allstadt, USGS Golden, CO Faculty Host: Rick Aster
Thursday, May 4 The Onset of Plate Tectonics: a Planet in Transition between Two- and Three-billion Years Ago. Kent Condie, New Mexico Tech Faculty Host: Rick Aster
Thursday, May 11 NO SEMINAR - FINALS WEEK